About the District

  • The South San Antonio Independent School District opened its doors to students in 1922 and was housed in a single building on Fleming Street. The district comprises approximately 21 square miles in the South and Southwest portions of San Antonio and is home to 1300 teachers, administrators, and staff.

    South San Antonio ISD proudly offers 13 schools to students, including eight elementary, three middle, and two high schools. We provide a variety of programs, such as early college, dual credit, several career and technical education opportunities, dual language, and Pre-K programs. SSAISD is also an open-enrollment district and therefore welcomes all Bexar County students.

    Thank you for choosing South San Antonio ISD.